Brisbane Roar (Suncorp Stadium) Trip

While on holiday in Brisbane in December 2011, I was lucky enough to be able to

Brisbane Roar FC

Brisbane Roar FC (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

visit a ground that I have always been dying to see, Suncorp Stadium, home of Brisbane Roar. Brisbane Roar have always had a special place in my heart as some of my relatives live in Brisbane so it was a no-brainer that I was going to support them.

However, this trip to the stadium is different to the Estadio da Luz trip as I did not see a Benfica home game. Well, this time around, I saw two Brisbane Roar homes and they were against Central Coast Mariners and Melbourne Victory. The first game was Roar v Mariners and that ended in a 2-1 victory for Central Coast Mariners. The second game was Roar v Victory and that ended in a 3-1 victory for the mighty Roar.

The ground itself is a very impressive stadium in my own opinion but this hardly suprising for me as I would expect a stadium that had a capacity of 52,500 to be an impressive stadium. Though, since football is not the biggest sport in Australia, it does result in low attendances unless you’re in Melbourne where every sport is big. The game against the Mariners had a pretty low attendance of 10,006 and the game against Victory had an attendance of 14,852. This meant that the atmosphere was not great but good enough.

It was somewhat refreshing to find out while at the ground that there was unreserved seating throughout though you had to sat in one area. So, when you didn’t like the view from your seats, there was pretty much nothing stopping you from moving from behind the goal for example to one of the corners of the ground. Within reason, of course in that you can’t like any football ground in England just walk in to the away area and sit there with a Brisbane Roar shirt on.

There was one thing I was disappointed with and that was the fact that they do not sell or produce for that matter any matchday programmes like they do in England. It would have been handy for me if I could tick the players while they were announced so I could keep track of who was playing. They don’t have to be like British matchday programmes in terms of length, 70-80 pages. I would be happy with a fairly small matchday programme. Though, that is a very minor issue.

All in all, they were two great days out and if you’re ever in Brisbane and a fan of football, I highly recommend that you see one of their games if they’re on at the time.

Suncorp Stadium before the 07/10/06 Australia ...

Suncorp Stadium before the 07/10/06 Australia v Paraguay friendly taken by Qld matt 03:46, 12 October 2006 (UTC) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Brisbane Roar (Suncorp Stadium) Trip

  1. I’m excited to discover this great site. I wanted to thank you for your time for this particularly wonderful read!! I definitely savored every part of it and i also have you book-marked to look at new stuff on your web site.

Leave a Reply

